Spike

Golden lab/collie mix, Spike

Golden lab/collie mix, Spike

I wanted to post this pastel painting of a friend’s rescue dog that I recently finished and had entered into a Pastels Only juried show. The awards were presented last night and this painting won a Third Place ribbon and prize.

I absolutely loved the photograph and just knew I had to paint this dog. Of course, as an artist I had the ability to change things to create a better design,  which I did. It is a powerful design, with simple shapes and good values. Sometimes more detail detracts from the subject.

But my main focus again was the look this dog had. I just fell in love with him!

Leave a Reply

